Vegetable rennet tablets
are made with microbial enzymes. They contain no animal products, wheat starch or other gluten products. Rennet is a complex of enzymes. Chymosin, the key element in rennet is a protease enzyme that curdles the casein in milk. Rennet is used to coagulate milk, separating it into curds and whey. Although the enzyme, chymosin, comes from the mucur miechei mold, there is no mold in vegetable rennet tablets. The chymosin enzyme in vegetable rennet tablets is the same enzyme found in calf rennet.
Rennet tables will keep at room temperature for up to a year, but kept in the freezer, they keep for 5 years. Liquid rennet needs to be stored in the refrigerator. Animal liquid rennet will last up to one year, liquid vegetable rennet will last 4-6 months, organic liquid vegetable rennet will last 3-4 months. Therefore, we only carry vegetable rennet tablets.
Liquid rennet and rennet tablets can be used interchangeably. Although many recipes call for liquid rennet, there will be no taste difference in the finished cheese. ¼ rennet tablet equals ¼ teaspoon liquid rennet.
After dissolving rennet in non chlorinated water it is good for approximately ½ hour. If you haven't added it to your milk in a half hour, toss it. Do not save rennet solution for a later use.
When shopping for rennet at the grocery, junket is often found. Junket is great for custard, but should not be used for making cheese. Rennet is 80% chymosin and 20% pepsin. Junket is 80% pepsin so it is much weaker than rennet and contains many additives. Do no substitute junket for rennet.